Phoenix, Arizona buzzes with plenty of vibrant nightclubs, bars and restaurants. With so many visitors to the downtown Scottsdale and other greater Phoenix areas and Old Town every weekend, the police always remain vigilant and on a lookout for intoxicated drivers.
When you can be charged with DUI for even 0.15 BAC level, such higher levels can lead to extreme charges and penalties.
Getting a DUI charge reduced or dismissed in Phoenix is not an easy job. With such stringent laws, only an experienced Phoenix DUI lawyer can review the case for legal issues and help get your charges dismissed or reduced.
Here is how DUI charges work in Phoenix:
The Levels of DUI Offences
In the Phoenix, Arizona legal system, DUI charges are differentiated at different levels. One way they are classified is by the blood alcohol level. The different levels of DUI offences, according to the Arizona Department of Public Safety are:
- You will be convicted with the slightest degree charge if you are generally intoxicated regardless of the substance’s quantity.
- You will get a standard DUI charge if the Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) is 0.08 to 0.14 percent. If you have a commercial license, then it is 0.04 percent.
- Extreme DUI charge if your BAC is 0.15 to 0.19 percent.
- You will be charged a super extreme DUI charge if your BAC content is 0.20 percent or more.
Under the Phoenix, Arizona law, these are considered misdemeanors. These offenses carry different penalties and also mandatory jail time, use of ignition interlock devices and fines.
The jail time varies depending on your Blood Alcohol Concentration. When you hire a Phoenix DUI lawyer, they will help reduce or dismiss your DUI charge as having this charge in your name can cause serious repercussions.
There is a no-tolerance law for all cities in Arizona. This law gives the police the power to arrest you if you have BAC under the legal limit of 0.08 and if you are the vehicle’s driver at that time.
This policy was established in 1995 as one of the requirements of the National Highways System Designation Act, to discourage the teens from driving intoxicated. In Phoenix, prosecutors and police regard the no-tolerance policy very seriously, and they have the power to enforce it to the full extent.
It is advisable to hire a dependable Phoenix DUI lawyer if you are ever convicted with DUI charges as the penalties can be extreme.
Some DUI charges are felonies
Aggravated DUI is held a felony in Arizona and Phoenix. You can face this charge if there are many repeat offenses within 84 months, if you drive with a revoked or suspended license or receive a DUI when driving intoxicated with a child who is at the age of 15 or younger.
If you are charged with DUI charges, the only way you can get out of it is with the help of a good DUI lawyer from Phoenix. Contact your attorney right after the arrest to get a head start on the defense you will need.